Flint Public Library, Flint, MI Staff Email Only Flint Public Library Home Page
Online Databases

Databases by Subject

Follow the links below to log into the databases. (What's a database?)
FROM HOME: You will be asked to use your library card to log in.
IN THE LIBRARY: Library computers automatically log in.

Search for Articles
By Keyword, selected databases


Click a subject heading to see the expanded list of databases.
Click HERE to see an alphabetic list of databases.

All-Time Favorites | Art, Literature, & Music | Business, Investment & Nonprofit
Diversity and Culture | Do It Yourself | Education, Jobs, etc. | Genealogy | General Reference
Health | History | Kids | Legal Resources | Music | Newspapers and Magazines
Science and Technology | Spanish Language | Teens

Follow the links below to log into the databases.
FROM HOME: You will be asked to use your library card to log in.
IN THE LIBRARY: Library computers automatically log in.

All-Time Favorites (some of our most popular databases)

  • Business & Company Resource Center – company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.
  • Newsbank – access to the Flint Journal and other Michigan and North American newpapers.FPL Logo
  • World Cat - a listing of books, magazines, newspapers, audio-visual materials, etc. available in 45,000 libraries that are members of OCLC (Online Computer Library Center).

Art, Literature & Music


Camio: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online Resource of works of art from around the world contributed and described by leading museums.

Info Trac Fine Arts & Music Collection Index and full-text collection of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

NetLibrary –over 11,000 books to read online at the library or at home. Set up an account at the library and then use the books on any computer with internet access or use it through our remote access. Most of the books are non-fiction.

NoveList – Electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles..

SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs Union catalog of auction catalog records from all major North American and European auction houses as well as private sales.

SIRS Renaissance – Provides dynamic information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, plus visual arts.


BACK TO TOP

Business, Investment & Nonprofit

Business & Company ASAP – information on companies, markets and industries.

Business & Company Resource Center – company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.

Foundation Directory Online – data on over 76,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities. Available only at Main Library.FPL Logo

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online – information on more than 6,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. Available only at Main Library. FPL Logo

General BusinessFile ASAP – broker reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings.

Info Trac Small Business Collection – Index and full-text collection of 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Insurance and Liability Collection – Index and full-text collection of 40 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Tourism, Hospitality and Leisure Collection – Index and full-text collection of nearly 500 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Diversity and Culture

Info Trac Diversity Studies Collection – Index and full-text collection of 150 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Issues CollectionIndex and full-text collection of over 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Popular Culture Collection Index and full-text collection of over 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas This landmark scholarly work offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the United States.FPL Logo

Do It Yourself

AllData – repair instructions for many US and foreign makes of cars. Available only from library computers. FPL Logo

ChiltonLibrary.Com - authoritative automotive repair information for car owners.

Info Trac Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture CollectionIndex and full-text collection of 50 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Home Improvement CollectionIndex and full-text collection of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Sam’s Photofacts Online - a collection of schematics for radios, televisions, VCRs and other home electronics. Available only in the library FPL Logo

Small Engine Repair Center
- repair information on ATVs, commercial mowers, farm tractors, generators, motorcycles, marine (boats), outdoor power equipment, PWC (personal watercraft/jet ski), snowblowers, snowmobiles, tillers and other small engines. FPL Logo


BACK TO TOP

Education, Jobs, etc.

Educators Reference Complete - content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.

ERIC - annotated references to non-journal material issued in the Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).

Learning Express Library - a source of online practice for the ACT, ASVAB, GED, SAT, Civil Service, and other standard tests. It also includes skill builders and basic skill tests for children and adults. The database keeps a record of your work for 60 days allowing time to study the results.

MOIS – a collection of career information, a template for writing simple resumes and a career planning module. Available only in the library - double click icon on desktop. FPL Logo

Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition - an extensive collection of databases dealing with genealogical questions including census, immigration lists, church and international lists as well as a guide to getting started in building your family tree. Available only in the library. FPL Logo

Biography and Genealogy Master Index – a guide to biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources.

HeritageQuest Online – Collection of research materials for tracing family history and American Culture.

General Reference

Academic OneFile – a collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources.

Electronic Books - locations of e-books on the web or in databases.

Gale Virtual Reference Library – a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference books. All may be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

General One File - a collection of full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources.

General Reference Center Gold – an index as well as a source of full text articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals.

GPO Monthly Catalog - a listing of all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.

Info Trac Communications and Mass Media Collection – Index and full-text collection of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Criminal Justice Collection – Index and full-text collection of 150 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Information Science and Library Issues Collection – Index and full-text collection of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Religion and Philosophy Collection – Index and full-text collection of 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

World Almanac - offers a basic reference source including biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics.

World Cat - a listing of books, magazines, newspapers, audio-visual materials, etc. available in 45,000 libraries that are members of OCLC (Online Computer Library Center).

World Cat Dissertations-


BACK TO TOP

Health

CINAHL Basic – Index for almost 3,000 journals from fields of nursing and allied health.

Health & Wellness Resource Center – full-text access to up-to-date health information from magazines, journals, pamphlets, reference books and selected internet sites.

Health Reference Center Academic – full-text access to the majority of the indexed articles in health& medical magazines, journals & reference books.

History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM) – Bibliography of the history of science, technology and medicine.

Info Trac Nursing and Allied Health Collection – Index and full-text collection of 400 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection – Index and full-text collection of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Psychology Collection – Index and full-text collection of 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Medline
- electronic version of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, including thousands of records with substantial abstracts.

MedlinePlus - provides access to easy to read information about health topics.

National Library of Medicine Digital Collections - the National Library of Medicine's free online archive of biomedical books and videos. All the content in Digital Collections is in the public domain and freely available worldwide.

History

Info Trac U.S. History Collection – Index and full-text collection of 40 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac War and Terrorism Collection – Index and full-text collection of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac World History Collection – Index and full-text collection of 40 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Military and Intelligence Collection – Index and full-text collection of 400 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

SIRS Renaissance – Provides dynamic information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, plus visual arts.

Kids

eLibrary elementary - a full text collection of magazines, newspapers, books, multimedia clips, maps, pictures and transcripts for elementary school students.

InfoTrac Junior - an index as well as a source of full text articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals designed for students in junior high and middle school.

InfoTrac Kids Edition - periodical database designed for elementary school students.

InfoTrac Student - a database designed for secondary school students to provide information for assignments.

KidsInfoBits - a collection of full text articles from children’s magazines and newspapers on a variety of topics designed for students in grades K to 5.

SIRS Discoverer Deluxe - a full text reference database, containing thousands of full-text articles from magazines, newspapers and government documents World Almanac and the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia.

Tumblebooks - animated, talking picture books that have been created from existing picture books from well-known publishers and authors. FPL Logo


BACK TO TOP

Legal Resources

LegalTrac - an index of articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers, including European sources.

Music

SIRS Renaissance – Provides dynamic information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, plus visual arts.

Newspapers and Magazines

Article First - an index of items listed on the table of contents pages of journals including a list of libraries that have the journal title.

Electronic Collections Online
- an index of eJournals including full-text articles from journals subscribed to by the Flint Public Library.

Expanded Academic ASAP - a collection of articles from scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.

Flint Journal Online Index - contains citations to select articles of local significance appearing in The Flint Journal from January 2009 to the present.

General OneFile - a collection of news and periodical articles on: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

General Reference Center Gold – an index as well as a source of full text articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals.
New York Times – fulltext articles from 1995 - present.

Newsbank – access to the Flint Journal and other Michigan and North American newpapers. FPL Logo

Science and Technology

Computer Database - a database that locates articles, news and reviews concerning computers, electronics and engineering.

History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM) – Bibliography of the history of science, technology and medicine.

Info Trac Agriculture Collection – Index and full-text collection of 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac Environmental Studies and Policy Collection – Index and full-text collection of 40 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Info Trac General Science Collection – Index and full-text collection of 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. May be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

MSU Turfgrass Information File – USGA Turfgrass Information File contains articles from peer reviewed publications, technical reports and conference proceedings, trade and professional publications, local professional newsletters, and popular magazines as well as monographs, theses and dissertations, fact sheets and brochures, software, and web documents.

Sam’s Photofacts Online - a collection of schematics for radios, televisions, VCRs and other home electronics. Available only in the library. FPL Logo


BACK TO TOP

Spanish Language

Gale Virtual Reference Library – a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference books. All may be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Informe! – provides full-text articles from hundreds of the most requested Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals. Results may be viewed by Subject, Document Type or Publication Title.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas – This landmark scholarly work offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the United States. FPL Logo

Most Gale databases may be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

Teens

Gale Virtual Reference Library – a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference books. All may be read in Spanish, English, French, German, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, Chinese (simplified) or Korean.

General OneFile - a collection of news and periodical articles on: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

General Reference Center Gold – an index as well as a source of full text articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals.

InfoTrac Junior - an index as well as a source of full text articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals designed for students in junior high and middle school.

InfoTrac Student - a database designed for secondary school students to provide information for assignments.

SIRS Discoverer Deluxe - a full text reference database, containing thousands of full-text articles from magazines, newspapers and government documents World Almanac and the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia.

BACK TO TOP

Databases marked are provided by the Library of Michigan. These databases can also be reached by going to http://mel.org and entering your driver’s license or state ID number.

Databases marked Flint Public Library Logoare provided by the Flint Public Library and are available only to our patrons.

Home | About | Branch Hours | Calendar | Catalog
Internet Search
| Ask A Librarian | Local Community | Kids' Web | Teen Zone

spacer

Connect with Us:

Flint Public Library, 1026 E. Kearsley St., Flint, Michigan 48502
Phone (810) 232-7111


Copyright Flint Public Library. All rights reserved.
Updated 09/22/11
Contact: askus at fpl.info